Fresh Start (Welcome 2015-2016 School Year!)

wonderfulI am so pleased to be welcomed back to another year mentoring with the Vernon Community School students. I always see fresh starts as a chance to evaluate what I’ve been doing – what has worked and what hasn’t – and how can I do better? The start of a new school year is no different. Last year with the VCS, I taught a bunch of concepts in emotions and assisted students with the beginnings of affect regulation. This year, I wanted to invite the students into my curriculum planning process. We talked about what we did last year, and created a plan for this year. Thank you to all the students returning to my class – you know who you are and I am so pleased to see you! And welcome to all the new faces! I invite to join me with an open mind, a curious heart, and a playful attitude.

The Topics
I asked the class about the big emotions we should work on, and the following this was generated. I present it here in the same order in which we will follow over the next few months.

1. Fear, Terror, and Panic
2. Jealousy and Envy
3. Anger
4. Stress and Anxiety
5. Guilt and Shame
6. Sadness and Grief
7. Depression

Themes and Theoretical Underpinnings:
There is a lot of learning material, research, and theory that informs my work with the Vernon Community School students. If you are curious about what I will be bringing to the table during each class, please explore the list below.

  • Emotion Regulation Skills
    • Grounding
    • Resourcing
    • Breathing
    • Mindfulness
    • Bilateral Stimulation
  • Creating connections with happiness, joy, calm, and quiet
  • Neuroscience
  • Empathetic Skills
    • Getting grounded
    • Defining boundaries
    • Burning contacts
    • Conscious planning
    • Rejuvenating yourself
  • Narrative Therapy
  • Communicating emotions
    • Non-violent communication
  • Understanding the role of distraction, avoidance, addiction, resistance

It will be a great year!

Leave a Reply

